THE PARK ACCESS FIELD GUIDE
US theme park disability access services compared
What the law requires, what each park chooses to offer, and the practical differences for visitors from the UK and Europe. Official pages reopened on 2 October 2026; park profiles checked on 1 October 2026.
There is no single US system. The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) sets a floor that every park must meet. Above it, each park or operator designs its own scheme, with its own name, its own way of applying and its own limits. This guide puts the main US schemes side by side, using only what each park’s own profile on this site records. It is desk research, not a visit report, and it is not legal advice.
The short answer
- Required by the ADA. A theme park is a covered business: the Department of Justice (DOJ) definition of a place of public accommodation includes “a park, zoo, amusement park, or other place of recreation”. The park must change its policies where that is needed for equal access, unless it can show the change would fundamentally alter what it offers. It must let people use wheelchairs and walkers anywhere pedestrians can go. It must admit trained service dogs. Newly built rides must meet access standards, with exceptions for child rides, rider-controlled rides and rides without seats, and queue signs must say what type of access each ride gives.
- Chosen by the park. The ADA text we read does not name or prescribe a queue scheme: the word “queue” does not appear on the DOJ regulation page, and we found no DOJ page prescribing return times. So Disney’s DAS, Universal’s pass, the Six Flags group programme and the rest are each operator’s own design. So are companion limits, rental prices and which documents (if any) the park asks for.
- What that means for you. You cannot rely on a right to a particular wait. The Six Flags group parks say outright that their programme gives equal access, not immediate boarding, and the IBCCES card guarantees nothing. Every ride keeps its height, health and restraint rules. We have not searched DOJ settlements or case law, so we cannot say the law never requires a particular queue arrangement.
- The biggest difference from UK parks: most US schemes ask you to explain your needs to a person, or to upload a statement to a third party, rather than show a benefit letter or Blue Badge. No US park in this guide names a UK or EU document.
Required and chosen, in more detail
What the ADA requires
- Reasonable modifications. Title III of the ADA requires a business to make reasonable changes to its policies, practices or procedures when needed to give disabled people access, unless it can show the change would fundamentally alter the nature of what it provides (28 CFR 36.302(a)). The regulation page does not mention queues or say what form an accommodation should take.
- Mobility devices. Wheelchairs and manually powered aids such as walkers, crutches and canes must be allowed in any area open to pedestrians. Other power-driven devices must be allowed unless the park can show the class of device cannot be operated safely under legitimate safety rules (36.311).
- Service animals. A service animal is a dog individually trained to do work or perform tasks directly related to a person’s disability. Staff may ask only two questions when it is not obvious: whether the dog is required because of a disability, and what task it is trained to do. No certificate, vest or ID is required. The regulation has a separate provision for trained miniature horses.
- New rides. The 2010 ADA Standards (section 234) say a newly designed ride must provide at least one wheelchair space, transfer seat or transfer device, with load and unload areas on an accessible route. Rides designed primarily for children, rides the rider controls and rides without seats are excused the wheelchair-space and sign requirements but not the accessible route. Mobile rides are exempt. Signs at queue entrances must say what type of access the ride provides (216.12). The standards apply to newly designed and built rides.
- Safety rules stay. Every park we read keeps height, restraint and body-fit rules for all guests, and says staff cannot lift or transfer you. That is why many rides need a transfer out of your chair, with help from your own party.
What parks choose
Everything else in the table below: the scheme’s name and who it is for, whether you apply by video, in person or through a third-party card, whether you get a return time, a separate entrance or only a ride list, how many companions come with you, and what you pay to hire a scooter. The sources are DOJ Title III regulation (opens a new tab) , 2010 ADA Standards (opens a new tab) and DOJ service animal FAQ (last updated 28 February 2020) (opens a new tab) , all reopened on 2 October 2026. The DOJ’s ADA Information Line, as listed on its FAQ page, is 800-514-0301.
How far to trust this comparison
We make a claim about a park only as that park’s own profile does, so the comparison inherits each profile’s limits. They are not equal:
- Official pages opened directly: Walt Disney World, Disneyland Resort, Cedar Point, Kings Island, Knott’s Berry Farm, Magic Mountain and Great Adventure. The Magic Mountain and Great Adventure guides are 2025 editions.
- Partly from notes: Universal Orlando (the website blocks automated readers, so we re-opened the official PDF guides and rely on a real-browser reading for the web pages) and Universal Studios Hollywood (its web pages could not be re-opened; the guide PDF and IBCCES pages were).
- From notes only, because the park website refused automated readers: SeaWorld Orlando, Busch Gardens Tampa Bay, Dollywood and Sesame Place Philadelphia. For Dollywood and the two Florida animal parks, a second set of notes saw only search summaries. Treat their rows as leads to check with the park.
- One dated document: Hersheypark rests on a rider guide created in March 2024. Its FAQ and application pages did not open, so cost, evidence and online steps are unconfirmed.
The sources conflict on SeaWorld, Busch Gardens and Dollywood. Our profiles for them rest on one set of research notes that read the park pages; a second check saw only search summaries and could not confirm them. We could not settle this, so use those rows, and Sesame Place’s, as questions to put to the park, not as answers.
The parks side by side
Wheelchair-only guests may need no scheme at all: Universal says so. The scheme only changes how you wait. Boarding is a separate question, covered in the profiles.
| Park and source limit | Scheme name | How you get it | Who it is for | At the ride | Companions | Documents named for visitors from abroad |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Walt Disney World, Florida Official pages read | Disability Access Service (DAS) | Live video chat, 7:00 to 20:00 Eastern, from 60 days ahead or on the day. The page describes no other route. | Guests who cannot wait in a conventional queue because of a developmental disability such as autism or similar | Return time comparable to the standby wait; one active at a time | Registered guest plus 3 (4 in all) | None listed; UK visitors not addressed |
| Disneyland Resort, California Official pages read | DAS (separate from Florida) | Live video chat, 8:00 to 20:00 Pacific, or in person at the Accessibility Services Kiosk | Same wording as Florida. A separate Location Return Time exists for wheelchair and ECV users at some older Disneyland Park queues. | Return time comparable to the standby wait, booked in the app; one at a time | Registered guest plus 3 (4 in all) | None listed; UK visitors not addressed |
| Universal Orlando Resort Park website blocks readers; official PDF guides re-opened, web pages from notes | Attractions Assistance Pass (AAP) | Free IBCCES card online first; Universal’s Guest Accessibility team then contacts you. Not guaranteed. | Guests whose disability means they cannot wait in long queues. Wheelchair-only users need neither card nor pass. | Digital return time in the app, based on the posted wait | Holder sets up the party and must ride. No maximum published. | None named; IBCCES asks for a statement from a medical provider, government body or other organisation |
| Universal Studios Hollywood Park web pages could not be re-opened; guide PDF read | Attractions Assistance Pass, via IBCCES card | Free IBCCES card (48 hours to 30 days ahead), shown at Guest Relations. Not guaranteed. | Guests whose disability stops them waiting a long time in a conventional queue | Not published: the park does not say what the pass gives | Not stated | None named for UK or EU visitors |
| SeaWorld Orlando Park site refused readers; follows notes | Ride Accessibility Program (RAP) with Special Access | In person at Guest Services just inside the entrance, on the day | Not stated in our notes | Boarding times based on the estimated wait at listed rides; one active at a time | Enrolled guest must ride; up to 5 others | None found |
| Busch Gardens Tampa Bay Park site refused readers; follows notes | Ride Accessibility Program (RAP) with Special Access | In person at Guest Relations just inside the entrance, on the day | Not stated in our notes | Individual ride list and virtual boarding times; one wait time at once | Registered guest must ride; up to 5 others | None named; not said that none is needed |
| Dollywood, Tennessee Park site refused readers; follows notes | Ride Accessibility Pass | In person at the Ride Accessibility Center inside the park | Not stated; hosts discuss your rider requirements | Pass needed for accessible entrances. How any return time works: not published. | Holder plus up to 5 (6 in all); holder must ride | None named |
| Sesame Place Philadelphia Park site refuses readers; follows notes | Ride Accessibility Program (RAP) | Assessment on arrival at the Welcome Center | Not stated; an assessment of which rides suit you | A list of suitable rides. Any queue benefit: not confirmed. | Not confirmed | None named |
| Hersheypark, Pennsylvania One official guide read, dated March 2024 | Attraction Accessibility Program (Attraction Boarding Pass) | In person at Accessibility Services outside the Front Gate or any Guest Services; questionnaire and conversation | Guests with a disability or other need that prevents long waits in standard queues | Accessible entrance; on Fast Track rides a reverse boarding time (queue time written on the pass) | Holder plus up to 3 riding companions; holder must ride | None named; evidence rests on the questionnaire |
| Cedar Point, Ohio Official pages and 2026 guide read | Attraction Accessibility Program | Ask at Guest Services on arrival; free IBCCES card encouraged | Guests with mobility restrictions or cognitive impairments who cannot wait in the regular line | Alternate access shown on each ride’s sign, often the ride exit. No immediate boarding; return times not described. | No limit published; Rider Swap for non-riders | IBCCES card encouraged; UK and EU documents not named |
| Kings Island, Ohio Official pages and 2026 guide read | Attraction Accessibility Program | Ask at Guest Services on arrival; free IBCCES card encouraged | Same wording as Cedar Point | Alternate access, mostly the ride exit. No immediate boarding; return times not described. | Not stated; Rider Swap for non-riders | IBCCES card encouraged; UK and EU documents not named |
| Knott’s Berry Farm, California Official pages and 2026 guide read; IBCCES site not read for this park | Alternate Access (Attraction Accessibility Program) | Ask at Guest Services on arrival; IBCCES card encouraged | Same wording as Cedar Point | Alternate Access entrance, usually at the ride exit. No immediate boarding. | Not stated | IBCCES card encouraged; UK and EU documents not named |
| Six Flags Magic Mountain, California Official page, FAQ and 2025 guide read | Attraction Accessibility Program | Free IBCCES card, then show it at the Ride Information Center on arrival | Same wording as Cedar Point | Alternate entrance, generally the ride exit. How the wait is handled: not published. | Holder plus up to 3 riding companions, only if the holder rides (2025 guide) | IBCCES statement; UK and EU documents not named |
| Six Flags Great Adventure, New Jersey Official pages and 2025 guide read | Attraction Accessibility Program | IBCCES card encouraged; then Ride Information Center or Guest Services (the park’s two documents name different desks) | Same wording as Cedar Point | Alternate Access entrances. Return times: not stated. | Group size not published; Rider Swap for non-riders | IBCCES card encouraged; UK and EU documents not named |
The “At the ride” column is where the schemes differ most. Disney and Hersheypark (on Fast Track rides) describe a return time linked to the standard wait. SeaWorld and Busch Gardens describe boarding times based on the estimated wait. Universal Orlando describes a return time in an app. The Six Flags group parks describe an alternate entrance, usually at the ride exit, and say they give no immediate boarding. Universal Studios Hollywood, Dollywood and Sesame Place do not publish the mechanism. Our finder uses the label “accessible entrance” for Universal Hollywood only as a placeholder: the official text describes the aim, not the mechanism.
For a plain-language comparison of scheme types across Europe and the US, see Which access scheme suits us?
The IBCCES Accessibility Card explained
Several parks above send you to the IBCCES Accessibility Card (IAC). What the IBCCES registration page (opens a new tab) says, read on 2 October 2026:
- What it is. A free digital card, created by IBCCES (the International Board of Credentialing and Continuing Education Standards), for anyone who may need accommodations at participating parks and attractions. It is not issued by the parks.
- How you get it. You register online or in the IBCCES app, with a recent photo, contact details for the cardholder (or parent, guardian or support person), and contact details and a statement from a medical provider, government entity or other entity about the accommodations needed. IBCCES says it does not ask for your diagnosis, and that diagnosis details should be left out or redacted.
- Rules. You must be 18 or over to request it for yourself. IBCCES asks you to register at least 48 hours before a visit. It says the card is good for one year and can be renewed.
- What it does not do. The page says in capitals that the card does not guarantee entry to an attraction and that any accommodation is at the sole discretion of the attraction. It is not a ticket, and the park’s posted rules still apply.
- Which parks. The page says each location that uses it will direct visitors to register, and links a list of participating locations that we have not read. In our profiles Cedar Point, Kings Island, Knott’s, Magic Mountain and Great Adventure name it, and Universal Orlando and Universal Hollywood route their pass through it. Disney’s DAS pages as we read them do not mention it.
- Questions we cannot answer from the page. It does not say whether applicants outside the US are accepted, or whether a statement from a UK or EU doctor or government body counts. Its contact details are customersupport@ibcces.org and 877-717-6543.
IBCCES also certifies venues whose staff have completed its training (“Certified Autism Center”). That is a rating of the venue, not a document you carry, and we do not treat it as evidence of access at any park.
Where it points the same way, and where it does not
- Universal’s guidance says to register within 30 days of your visit as well as at least 48 hours before. The IBCCES page we read gives only the 48 hours. If you are going to Universal, follow its window.
- Our Hollywood profile records that another IBCCES page words the document requirement differently (a statement from a healthcare provider). The registration page we read says medical provider, government entity or other entity. Ask IBCCES which applies to you.
- The card does not make a park offer a scheme. At Cedar Point, Kings Island and Knott’s the park “encourages” the card but its pages do not say you cannot use the programme without it, nor what happens if you arrive without one.
How the card route differs from Disney DAS
| Question | IBCCES card route (Universal, Six Flags group) | Disney DAS |
|---|---|---|
| Who runs it | IBCCES issues the card; each park decides what to offer | Disney, resort by resort; DAS issued at Walt Disney World is not valid at Disneyland, and the reverse |
| How you apply | Online beforehand, with uploaded statement; then a conversation with the park | Live video chat with a Cast Member; photo taken; guest present; requester 18 or over. Disneyland also has an on-site kiosk. |
| Language | Not stated on the IBCCES page | Disneyland’s page says the chat is in English and offers an American Sign Language interpreter; our Walt Disney World profile records neither |
| Documents | Photo, contact details and a statement from a medical provider, government entity or other entity | None listed on the pages we read; eligibility decided in the conversation |
| Who it is for | Parks word it differently: for example “mobility restrictions or cognitive impairments” (Six Flags group) or “cannot wait in long queues” (Universal) | Guests who cannot wait in a conventional queue because of a developmental disability such as autism or similar |
| Cost | Card is free | No fee stated on the pages we read |
| Guarantee | None: the card guarantees nothing and the park decides | Cast Member decides eligibility; the guest must be present to redeem a return time; untrue statements can lead to a permanent ban |
| Length | Card valid one year | Length of the ticket or up to one year, whichever is shorter |
Five differences visitors trip over
1. DAS is for developmental disabilities; wheelchair users are handled differently
Disney’s own wording limits DAS to guests who, because of a developmental disability such as autism or similar, cannot wait in a conventional queue. We reopened both Disney DAS pages on 2 October 2026 and the wording is the same. Our Disneyland profile records separate tools for others: a Location Return Time for wheelchair and ECV users at some older Disneyland Park queues, queue re-entry, Rider Switch and Single Rider. Our Walt Disney World profile records seven options on the resort’s queue page and notes it found no wheelchair or ECV entrance rules in detail there. Universal says wheelchair-only users need no pass. At the Six Flags group parks the wording is “mobility restrictions or cognitive impairments”, which is broader.
Whatever the queue, the ride itself may need a transfer. Hersheypark’s guide says only two attractions let you stay in a wheelchair, and Kings Island’s says two. The parks whose guides we read say staff cannot lift or transfer you (Disneyland’s page describes the help as coming from your own party), so bring someone who can help.
2. Wheelchair and ECV hire: arrive early, and know the limits
An ECV is an electric convenience vehicle, a mobility scooter. Prices below are US dollars as printed on 1 October 2026 and can change.
- Walt Disney World: wheelchair $12 a day ($10 length-of-stay), ECV $65 a day. Reservations are not accepted; renters 18 or over with photo ID; ECVs may not leave the park where they were rented. Your own equipment is welcome.
- Disneyland: wheelchair $15, ECV $60 plus sales tax, no reservations, first come, first served. Your own device should be no more than 36 in (91 cm) wide and 52 in (132 cm) long, with at least three wheels.
- Universal Orlando: wheelchair $15, ECV $75, canopy ECV $95, with a signed contract; first come, first served. Apart from the Hogwarts Express, ride vehicles and attraction queues will not take ECVs, so you transfer to a wheelchair the attraction provides.
- Cedar Point, Kings Island, Knott’s: online reservation is offered (rental pages: manual wheelchair $25 to $26, electric wheelchair $60 to $70; Cedar Point and Kings Island add processing fees of up to $9.99 and tax). Great Adventure: $25 manual and $55 electric on the same basis. Rentals may not leave the gates at any of the four. At Great Adventure the pages disagree: the October 2025 guide says rentals cannot be reserved in advance, while the current rentals page lists online options. Ask whether paying online holds a particular device.
- Dollywood: a limited share of ECVs can be reserved online at least 48 hours ahead; walk-up supply is limited. Hersheypark: first come, first served, 450 lb limit, renter 18 or over, no price in the guide. Magic Mountain: first come, first served per its FAQ; no prices in our profile.
Planning advice: the norm is no advance booking at the big operators, so go to the rental point first thing, or bring your own chair. For delivery to a Disneyland Resort hotel, Disneyland’s page names a private company, ScooterBug, which is not Disney.
3. Service animals are not emotional support animals
Under the ADA only a dog individually trained to do work or perform tasks directly related to a disability is a service animal. The DOJ FAQ says emotional support, therapy, comfort and companion animals are not service animals. The parks follow this: Disney (Walt Disney World and Disneyland), Hersheypark, Cedar Point, Kings Island, Knott’s and Magic Mountain say emotional support animals do not qualify, Walt Disney World allows them only at designated pet-friendly resort hotels, and Disneyland says they are not allowed in the resort. Disney and Hersheypark also accept trained miniature horses; Magic Mountain’s guide does too, while Cedar Point, Kings Island and Knott’s define it as a dog.
- Documents. The ADA does not let a business require certification, and says online “registration” documents confer no ADA rights. A UK assistance dog ID card is not required by the ADA, but staff may ask the two questions.
- Rides. On most rides the animal stays with a non-rider. Disney offers Rider Switch, Disneyland also offers portable kennels, and Knott’s and Magic Mountain point to Rider Swap, so the party can take turns. Disneyland says service dogs ride on the vehicle floor, with some rides excluded; Cedar Point and Knott’s list a few gentle rides where the dog may sit on the floor. The parks that cover it keep service animals out of water attractions.
- The parks differ on numbers. Cedar Point’s guide limits a guest to two service animals; Knott’s allows one per guest. Ask before you bring more than one.
- Bringing a dog from the UK. We have not researched US entry rules for dogs, and each profile says to check with the government and your airline. The ADA rules we cite cover businesses such as the park, not airline or border rules.
4. Accessible parking and permits from abroad
Every US park profile that covers parking says a valid permit, placard or plate must be displayed. None says a UK Blue Badge is accepted, and none says it is refused: each profile lists it as a question. Disney’s parking pages say a “valid disability parking permit” is required and that standard rates apply.
The one primary source we found that speaks about foreign permits is Florida law. Section 316.1958 of the Florida Statutes (2025 text) (opens a new tab) , reopened 2 October 2026, says a vehicle displaying a disabled plate or permit issued by another US state or district, or by a foreign country that issues permits showing the international symbol of accessibility, is recognised for special parking privileges, “if the other state or district grants reciprocal recognition for residents of this state”. What we cannot tell you:
- The statute names no country, so we cannot say whether a UK Blue Badge or an EU parking card qualifies, or how the reciprocity condition applies to a foreign country.
- It is a general traffic-parking statute. We have not confirmed that the private car parks at Walt Disney World, Universal Orlando, SeaWorld or Busch Gardens follow it, and their pages say only “valid permit”.
- Outside Florida we have read no equivalent for the other states in this guide.
Planning advice: bring the permit and proof of identity, and ask the park in writing before you arrive. Our Walt Disney World and Disneyland profiles each list the Blue Badge question for the resort to answer.
5. Medical devices and oxygen
Official pages that say anything on this agree on one thing: devices are checked ride by ride, not park-wide.
- Portable oxygen tanks: allowed only on a short list of gentle attractions at Universal Orlando, Hersheypark (five rides, March 2024 guide), Knott’s (five rides) and Kings Island. Universal says concentrators may be allowed if secured. Magic Mountain’s guide says tanks are not allowed on most rides, and that First Aid can store spare tanks. At Universal Hollywood, tanks are allowed in the stationary seating at two venues only.
- Pocket-sized devices such as insulin pumps, auto-injectors and inhalers are allowed at Universal Orlando if secured and not in the way of restraints. Some Universal rides have metal detectors, and Hersheypark and Cedar Point name rides that use magnets, relevant to pacemakers and hearing aids.
- Prostheses, casts and braces: rules vary ride by ride at Universal, Hersheypark and the Six Flags group parks, some needing a letter from the prosthesis maker, and full arm or leg casts bar most rides at Kings Island and Magic Mountain, and rule out many at Knott’s. Read the ride entry.
- Disney: the Disney pages we read do not state oxygen or device rules, so we do not either.
- Not covered here: flying with batteries, carrying medicines or sharps across borders, and importing a dog. We have not researched them.
What to arrange before you fly
Lead times are as each park’s official page states them. Where a page gives none, we say so.
As soon as you have dates
- Decide which park’s scheme you may need, using the table. If it is Disney, remember DAS is not transferable between Florida and California.
- Email the park’s accessibility team with the questions in the next section. Park contacts we recorded: Disney, disability.services@disneyparks.com (Walt Disney World) and disability.services@disneyland.com (Disneyland); Universal Orlando, guestservices@universalorlando.com (replies in 24 to 48 hours) or 407 224 4233. Keep any reply.
Up to 60 days before
- Disney DAS: live video chat can be done as soon as 60 days before your visit. You need a device with camera and microphone, linked tickets for each party member at Disneyland, and English.
30 days to 48 hours before
- IBCCES card: at least 48 hours before at the Six Flags group parks and Universal; Universal also advises within 30 days of the visit. Register earlier than 48 hours: IBCCES gives that as a minimum, and Cedar Point’s profile says so too.
- Dollywood ECV: reserve at least 48 hours ahead if you want a reserved scooter.
- Rentals elsewhere: reserve online where offered (Cedar Point, Kings Island, Knott’s, Busch Gardens). Knott’s says at least 24 hours ahead for an electric chair; no lead time is stated on the other pages.
Two weeks to one week before
- Sign language: American Sign Language is not British Sign Language, so decide if it meets your need. Notice stated: 14 days at Universal Orlando (email), SeaWorld (accessibility guide) and Walt Disney World special events and dinner shows; at least a week at Cedar Point; at least seven days at Great Adventure.
- Food allergies: Universal Orlando asks for 72 hours’ email notice; Sesame Place three to five business days; Dollywood at least five business days.
On arrival
- Go to the rental point, then the scheme desk, before queuing for a ride. Hersheypark, SeaWorld, Busch Gardens, Dollywood and Sesame Place describe enrolment in person at the park.
- Bring someone who can help you transfer: staff do not lift.
- Carry the card or permit and proof of identity on your phone and on paper.
Questions still worth asking the park
- Will you accept evidence from the UK or EU: a Blue Badge, a benefit letter, a doctor’s letter, an EU Disability Card? Is there anything extra for visitors from abroad? (None of the US profiles names one.)
- Will IBCCES accept a statement from a UK clinician, and can someone outside the US register?
- What does the pass give at this park: a return time, a separate entrance, or a ride list only? (Not published at Universal Hollywood, Dollywood, Sesame Place or the Six Flags group parks.)
- How many companions can come with the holder, and must the holder ride?
- Can the pass be combined with a paid queue product (Disney Lightning Lane, Universal Express, Fast Lane)? Neither Disney page says.
- Is my wheelchair or scooter allowed in queues and on transport, and what are the size limits? Is there a transfer seat on the ride I want?
- Does the park accept a UK Blue Badge for accessible parking?
- Is there a toilet with a hoist and an adult-sized changing bench? None of our profiles describes one as equivalent to a UK Changing Places toilet.
- What does the park say about my medical device, prosthesis or oxygen on the rides I want?
- Which version of the park’s guide applies on my date? Several parks’ pages disagree with their own guides (see below).
Where official pages disagree
- Service animal numbers: Cedar Point’s guide allows two per guest; Knott’s allows one.
- Which desk: Great Adventure’s accessibility page says Guest Services; its 2025 guide says the Ride Information Center. Magic Mountain’s page names the Ride Information Center, while other Six Flags group parks say Guest Services.
- Great Adventure rentals: the guide says no advance reservation; the rentals page lists online options.
- Universal Hollywood contact number: the park’s guide and its web page (as recorded in our notes) give different numbers.
- IBCCES timing and documents: Universal says register within 30 days and at least 48 hours; the IBCCES page we read says 48 hours only. The wording about documents differs between IBCCES pages, according to our Hollywood profile.
- SeaWorld Orlando: our notes read Special Access as a boarding time you wait for away from the queue. One search summary we could not open worded it as using selected rides without waiting in a standard line. We cannot tell which is current.
- Magic Mountain scheme name: the page says Attraction Accessibility Program; the FAQ says “Attraction Access Passes”; the guide uses both and describes a separate Attraction Accessibility Pass from Guest Relations. We cannot tell if these are one document or two.
- Sesame Place: the park’s site carries two 2026 accessibility guides of different lengths (29 and 32 pages).
Official sources
ADA.gov pages and the Florida statute were opened on 2 October 2026; park pages are as recorded in each profile on 1 October 2026.
- DOJ: ADA Title III regulation (28 CFR part 36) (opens a new tab) · 2010 ADA Standards (opens a new tab) · DOJ service animal FAQ (opens a new tab)
- IBCCES Accessibility Card registration (opens a new tab)
- Florida Statutes 316.1958: out-of-state and foreign disabled parking permits (opens a new tab)
- Walt Disney World: Disability Access Service (opens a new tab) · Disneyland Resort: Disability Access Service (opens a new tab)
- Park accessibility pages: Universal Orlando (opens a new tab) · Universal Studios Hollywood (opens a new tab) · SeaWorld Orlando (opens a new tab) · Busch Gardens Tampa Bay (opens a new tab) · Dollywood (opens a new tab) · Sesame Place Philadelphia (opens a new tab)
- Hersheypark rider guide (PDF, March 2024) (opens a new tab) · Cedar Point (opens a new tab) · Kings Island (opens a new tab) · Knott’s Berry Farm (opens a new tab) · Magic Mountain (opens a new tab) · Great Adventure (opens a new tab)
Related pages
Which access scheme suits us? explains the scheme types. Using UK documents abroad covers evidence and its limits. Each park profile has the details this guide leaves out, including ride restrictions, toilets, parking and transport: Walt Disney World, Disneyland Resort, Universal Orlando, Universal Hollywood, SeaWorld Orlando, Busch Gardens Tampa Bay, Dollywood, Sesame Place Philadelphia, Hersheypark, Cedar Point, Kings Island, Knott’s Berry Farm, Magic Mountain and Great Adventure.
Park policies and website pages can change. Where a park gives conflicting information, ask it to confirm which instruction applies to your visit. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.