THE DESTINATION COLLECTION

Six Flags Great Adventure accessibility and planning guide

How the Attraction Accessibility Program and the IBCCES Accessibility Card work at Great Adventure in New Jersey, plus ride transfers, rentals, parking, and the separate decisions for Hurricane Harbor and Wild Safari.

At a glance

USA · New Jersey · Jackson Township

Queue arrangement
Attraction Accessibility Program: alternate access with the normal wait still applying. The park says it does not provide immediate boarding.
In short
For guests with mobility restrictions or cognitive impairments who cannot wait in the regular line. The park describes a conversation at a desk on arrival; it does not publish how return times, if any, are given.
Evidence
The park encourages the free IBCCES Accessibility Card, issued by IBCCES and not by the park. No UK or EU document is named. Details
Companions
Group size is not published. One adult can stay with non-riders under Rider Swap. Details
Last checked
· desk research, not a visit report

Confirm the current process with the park before booking. Official accessibility page (opens a new tab) ↗

Research date:
Official Six Flags Great Adventure pages and guide read on this date. Desk research; not a visit report. Prices and hours are quoted as the pages gave them and can change.

DESTINATION GUIDE · 1 OCTOBER 2026

What kind of trip is this?

Great Adventure is a theme park in Jackson Township, New Jersey. Next to it are two other properties that the park sells and runs separately: Hurricane Harbor New Jersey (a water park) and Wild Safari (a drive-through animal park), plus the Savannah Sunset Resort & Spa. The park describes them as three properties served by one accessible bus. Treat the theme park, the water park and the Safari as separate decisions, because the access information we found covers the dry rides far better than the other two.

The park is part of the Six Flags group, but this page makes claims about Great Adventure only from Great Adventure’s own pages and guide.

This is our reading of official pages on one date, not a visitor review or a suitability rating. We have not visited for this profile. Where a page is silent, we say so rather than guess.

Attraction Accessibility Program: how it works

The park’s accessibility page says its Attraction Accessibility Program is “designed to provide equal access to all Guests and does not provide immediate boarding on to attractions.” It is aimed at guests with mobility restrictions or cognitive impairments who ask for reasonable accommodations.

  • Before you arrive: the park encourages you to get an IBCCES Accessibility Card (see Evidence).
  • On arrival: the 2025 guide says to go to the Ride Information Center and explain that you cannot wait in the regular line. The accessibility page says Guest Services. The two official documents name different desks, so ask at the gate which one handles it that day.
  • The conversation: staff ask some questions about the physical criteria needed to ride safely, then explain how to take part. The guide also mentions a Rider Access Form listing rides you can safely ride.
  • Where you enter: the guide refers to “Alternate Access” entrances, and ride entries describe, for example, entering by a ramp at a ride exit and climbing a few steps. Whether the programme issues return times is not stated anywhere we read.

Why we class this as an accessible entrance with the normal wait: the park says the programme gives no immediate boarding and describes no return time. We have not assumed a return-time system like Disney’s, and we have not borrowed rules from another Six Flags park.

Uncertain: we found no published answer on how waiting is arranged, whether everyone in the group waits elsewhere, how return times (if any) are calculated, or what happens if a visitor does not hold the IBCCES card. The accessibility page says “encouraged”; it does not say the card is compulsory, and it names no deadline.

Evidence and the IBCCES card

The park says only IBCCES can issue the card, not Great Adventure. You apply through IBCCES’s website or app and upload supporting documentation to its portal, and you then show the digital card at the desk. IBCCES’s own site says the card is free, valid for a year, needs a recent photo and a statement from a medical provider, government body or similar, and does not guarantee any accommodation. It asks you to register at least 48 hours ahead and says a person registering for themselves must be 18 or over.

UK and EU documents: the park does not name a Blue Badge, PIP letter, EU Disability Card or any other national document. It also does not say whether visitors from abroad can complete the IBCCES process, or which overseas documents IBCCES accepts. Ask IBCCES and the park before you rely on it.

Travelling with companions

We found no published limit on party size, no companion age rule for the programme, and no statement of whether companions wait with the guest or stand in the regular line. Ask before you travel.

  • Rider Swap: the guide says one supervising companion can stay with non-riders while the others ride; on return, the waiting adult can ride without rejoining the regular queue. A supervising companion is at least 54 inches tall and about 14 years old.
  • Personal care attendants: the FAQ says a guest who needs a personal care attendant for equal access may ask Guest Relations, after buying tickets, to waive the attendant’s admission by requesting a “PCA Reasonable Accommodations”. It is a request, not an automatic entitlement.

Rides, transfers and restrictions

  • Transfers: guests in wheelchairs generally have to move into the ride seat themselves or with a member of their party. Staff are not trained or permitted to transfer or lift guests. The guide advises travelling with someone who can physically help.
  • Chairs on rides: the guide says wheelchairs and ECVs cannot be accommodated on rides. It also says almost every ride is accessible in the sense that you can transfer, and that the chair is usually left near the platform.
  • Transfer aids: three rides are listed with a transfer device (The Joker, Wonder Woman: Lasso of Truth, and Justice League: Battle for Metropolis). Stabilising devices and park-provided body harnesses are available on some rides on request; four rides are listed as having no body harness.
  • Rider criteria: the guide sets out body-control and bracing criteria (sitting upright unaided, number of working limbs, a secure prosthesis, and so on). Some rides exclude prostheses, casts or braces, and neck braces bar riding. Read the ride entries.
  • Test seats and larger guests: test seats are at the entrances of eight named rides, and you can enter via the ride exit to try the restraint before queueing.
  • Evacuation: ride evacuations can involve catwalks and steep steps. Guests who need help may be escorted last, and the guide says you accept the risk of delayed evacuation.
  • Sensory and medical: magnets are used on a list of rides (relevant to pacemakers and hearing aids), haze, scents and low light are used on others, and portable oxygen tanks are restricted. The guide is the place to check each ride.

Planning advice: an alternate entrance does not answer whether you can transfer, hold the posture and fit the restraint. Decide ride by ride, and use the Ride Information Center for a list of rides. This page does not reproduce a ride-by-ride list: the guide is dated 28 October 2025 and may not match the 2026 season.

Wheelchairs, ECVs and your own equipment

The park’s pages disagree or are incomplete on rentals, so here is each statement and where it comes from.

  • The FAQ says a limited number of strollers, wheelchairs and ECVs are rented first come, first served on Main Street next to Guest Relations. It quotes $25 for a wheelchair and $55 for an ECV, and says an ECV renter must be 18 or over.
  • The October 2025 guide says rentals cannot be reserved in advance and urges guests to bring their own. It also says rented equipment may not be taken out of the gates or to the parking lot, though a park associate will help at that point.
  • The current rentals page lists electric wheelchair rental (18 or over) and wheelchair products with online options. It quotes the same base prices as the FAQ ($55 electric, $25 manual) plus a processing fee of up to $9.99 and taxes. We could not establish whether paying online reserves a specific device or guarantees availability.
  • The guide says a manual chair is available at ride lifts if a guest’s own chair is over 400 lb. A personal Segway should be shown to Guest Services before entering.

Planning advice: if the day depends on a chair, bring your own, and plan how you will manage between the car park and the gate if you rely on rental equipment. Hurricane Harbor does not rent strollers or wheelchairs (see below).

Toilets, care and quieter spaces

  • Quiet Room: at Ranger Station, for family members or caregivers to take a break and reduce sensory stimulation, with sensory features provided. Opening hours and how it works when occupied are not stated.
  • Companion restrooms: the guide lists a private restroom for guests who need a companion’s help across from the Sky Screamer, next to the Flash: Vertical Velocity pathway, and says companion restrooms and baby changing areas are in most restrooms.
  • First Aid: staffed from park open to close, with medical equipment storage and refrigeration for medication.

Uncertain: we found no mention of an adult-sized changing bench, a hoist or room dimensions. A companion restroom or baby changing table does not tell you that adult care is possible. If you need a hoist or an adult changing surface, ask the park before you travel. Sign language interpretation is offered on at least seven days’ notice through a request form on the accessibility page.

Arrival and parking

The park’s address is 1 Six Flags Blvd, Jackson Township, NJ 08527. The guide says accessible parking is on a first-come basis in the main lots. Ask a team member at the toll booths where to go; auto and van spaces are provided. A valid disabled parking placard or licence plate must be displayed, and security can ticket or tow vehicles without one. If the accessible area is full, passengers can be dropped at the main drop-off area near the entrance.

Uncertain: the guide says “valid” but does not say whether a UK Blue Badge or other foreign permit is accepted, and it gives no distance from the accessible spaces to the gate. Ask the park before you travel.

Without a car

The one current public transport lead we found is a private operator, TransportAzumah, whose own page lists seasonal Route 308 service for 2026 from the George Washington Bridge Bus Station in New York, with some trips from Newark Penn Station, to Great Adventure Lot 1 or 45. It says seats must be booked in advance to be guaranteed, that trips with very low bookings may be cancelled, that buses leave at the scheduled time and passengers who miss them must find their own way home, and that riders should finish rides at least 45 minutes before departure.

Uncertain: the page says nothing about wheelchair lifts, securement, device size, or how to board from the stop. We have not confirmed that this is an accessible journey. Ask the operator for vehicle-specific confirmation in both directions, and allow a bigger margin than 45 minutes if you need transfers or move slowly. Old NJ Transit pages about Route 308 still appear in searches, with a calendar that does not match 2026, so do not rely on them. The park’s directions page gives the address and driving routes but we found no accessible public transport route on it.

Hurricane Harbor and Wild Safari are separate decisions

Hurricane Harbor New Jersey: the park’s page calls it a separately gated 22-acre water park, open mid-May to early September, with separate admission. The FAQ says it does not rent strollers or wheelchairs. The guide says swimwear is not permitted on rides outside Hurricane Harbor, and that hearing devices can be damaged by water. We did not find water-entry lifts, a water wheelchair, slide-access rules or wet-area adult changing facilities. The dry-ride information above cannot fill those gaps. Check actual opening dates and ticket entitlements for your date.

Wild Safari: the FAQ says the Off-Road Adventure trucks are ADA accessible and hold two wheelchair passengers. It also says guests using a mechanical scooter or wheelchair must transfer into a seat or one of the park’s wheelchairs to ride. Do not read “ADA truck” as a promise that a powered chair can stay occupied. Ask about equipment, transfers, securing, journey length and toilet access for the experience you book.

Food, events and stays

  • Food allergies: the code of conduct allows an exception for the affected guest: food that fits in two sealable sandwich bags plus a snack, in one small soft cooler, with a medical sticker from Security at the main entrance. It says outside drinks are not permitted. The guide uses broader wording for special diets and medical needs, so settle quantities, medically necessary drinks and storage with Guest Services before travel. We found no assurance of allergy-safe meals.
  • Fright Fest Extreme: the code of conduct says park re-entry is not permitted during it. We have not extended this to other dates or events. Check the re-entry rule for the date you choose, and how you could leave if overwhelmed.
  • Savannah Sunset Resort & Spa: the park’s page describes suites with private bathrooms. We found no adapted-room specification, so we do not describe it as wheelchair-accessible. Ask for exact dimensions, shower type, transfer space, alarms and transport between properties before paying.

Shaping a day

This is planning advice, not something the park publishes.

  • Before you travel: apply for the IBCCES card early, send your questions to the park, and decide whether a rented chair is safe to rely on.
  • On arrival: find the quiet room and a care location, then go to the desk the gate team names for the Attraction Accessibility Program.
  • Choose a few rides you have checked against the guide’s criteria, and walk to the test seats or ask staff before you queue.
  • Build in rests for heat and fatigue, and keep a margin for any bus home.

Nearby alternatives

We have no verified accessibility information for other attractions near Jackson, so we name none. See Beyond the parks for general ideas, and check any venue yourself.

Questions still worth asking

We could not establish these from the park’s pages. Ask before you rely on any of them:

  • Which desk handles the programme on the day: Ride Information Center or Guest Services?
  • Is the IBCCES card required, or can you register at the desk without one? Can visitors from abroad complete it, and are UK or EU documents accepted?
  • How does waiting work: return times, a separate entrance, or both? How many companions can wait with the guest, and what is the rule for a missed return time?
  • Does the process differ for the theme park, Hurricane Harbor and the Safari?
  • Is a rental chair or ECV bookable in advance, and does payment guarantee one?
  • Is there an adult changing bench or hoist anywhere, and where?
  • Is a UK Blue Badge accepted for accessible parking?
  • Do the Route 308 buses carry occupied wheelchairs, and what size?
  • What access does Hurricane Harbor have for wheelchair users and wet-area care?
  • What is the exact re-entry rule for the date of your visit?

Official sources

All opened on 1 October 2026 unless noted.

Park policies and website pages can change. Where the park gives conflicting information, ask it to confirm which instruction applies to your visit. This is desk research, not a visit report.

Did this help you plan?

Tell us what to improve