THE PARK ACCESS FIELD GUIDE

Carer and companion tickets at theme parks

Which parks publish a free or cheaper ticket for a carer or companion, what they ask you to show, and where they say nothing. Official pages opened on 3 October 2026.

Many parks let a carer or essential companion in free or at a reduced price. Others publish nothing on the subject. This guide sets out what the parks on this site say on their own pages, what proof they ask for, and where we found no answer. It is desk research, not a visit report. It is not legal or medical advice, and the park decides on the day. Rules differ from park to park, so use each park’s own words, not a rule of thumb from another park.

In short

What each park says

All official pages in the tables were opened on 3 October 2026. We summarise the park’s wording and give a price only where the park’s page does. Where a cell says “not stated”, the page we read did not say, which is not the same as the park saying no. Each park name links to our profile, which holds more detail with its own sources and dates.

United Kingdom

Carer and companion ticket rules at UK parks, pages opened 3 October 2026
ParkCarer or companion ticketEvidence the park namesIs the disabled visitor’s own ticket reduced?Official source
Chessington World of AdventuresOne free carer ticket. The carer must be over 14 and understand the guest’s condition. A second free carer ticket needs a GP or NHS letter showing a need for a second carer. Carer tickets cannot be pre-booked and are collected in person.Any one of: a DLA, PIP, Attendance Allowance, Carer’s Allowance, Incapacity Benefit or ESA award letter; a Disabled Students’ Allowance or DID card; a valid Blue Badge; a BD8 or CVI for visual impairment; or an Access Card with the carer/companion symbol. Photo ID of the named recipient is also needed.No. The page says the disabled guest pays the standard rate.Chessington carer tickets page (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
Thorpe ParkOne free carer ticket. The disabled guest and any further members of the party pay full price.Any one of: DLA or PIP award letter, Attendance Allowance or Carer’s Allowance letter, Incapacity Benefit or ESA, a valid Blue Badge, a BD8 or CVI, a local authority registration document local to the park, a recognised assistance dog ID card, or an Access Card with the +1 symbol. Photo ID of the named recipient is also needed.No. The page says the disabled guest pays the standard rate.Thorpe Park carer tickets page (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
LEGOLAND WindsorOne free carer ticket, which can be reserved online. A second free ticket needs a letter from a school, GP or hospital consultant saying why a second carer is required.Any one of: DLA, PIP, Attendance Allowance or Carer’s Allowance award letter, Incapacity Benefit or ESA, a DID card, a valid Blue Badge, a BD8 or CVI, or an Access Card with the carer/companion symbol. Photo ID of the named recipient is also needed.No. The page says the disabled guest pays the standard rate (adult or child as appropriate).LEGOLAND Windsor carer tickets page (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
Drayton ManorA free Essential Companion ticket, claimed at the ticket office on arrival. It is only available with a paying guest aged 4 or over.A Nimbus Access Card or a Drayton Manor DAP ID, and the card must show the +1 or +2 symbol.Not stated. The page says the companion is free when accompanying a paying guest.Drayton Manor accessibility page (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
Paultons ParkAn Essential Companion ticket with a 50% discount on the carer’s entry cost. If you paid in full before your Access ID arrived, the page says to email it within a month of the visit to ask for a refund.An Access Card or Access ID with the +1 or +2 symbol. The page says processing can take up to 5 days at busy times.Not stated. The discount is described as applying to the carer or carers.Paultons Essential Companion page (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
Blackpool Pleasure BeachA discounted Essential Companion eTicket at £25, which the park says saves up to £35 against a full-price eTicket. The page says the park contacts you with booking instructions once you share your card or ID number.A Nimbus ID or Access Card with the +1 symbol. The page says the park cannot accept other documents such as a Blue Badge, doctor’s note or DLA or PIP paperwork for its EasyPass and Essential Companion applications.Not stated.Blackpool accessibility page (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
Flamingo LandOne free entry ticket for a carer when the guest can prove disability. The page says carers must be of sufficient age and fitness to give the care needed.Proof of disability. DWP and DLA letters are accepted only with photo ID. The page also names Nimbus Access Card symbols for standing and queuing, urgent toilet needs, difficulty standing and difficulty in crowds, and does not name a +1 symbol, so ask which symbol you need for a carer ticket.Not stated.Flamingo Land accessibility guide (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.

Sweden, Norway and Denmark

Companion ticket rules at Swedish, Norwegian and Danish parks, pages opened 3 October 2026
ParkCarer or companion ticketEvidence the park namesIs the disabled visitor’s own ticket reduced?Official source
Liseberg (Sweden)Up to two personal attendants are admitted free and may ride free when riding with you. The attendant wristband acts as their ride ticket. Any further attendant pays the regular price.A certificate signed by someone who knows your condition and works in healthcare, support services or education, shown at Guest Services. The page says international attendant cards and the EU Disability Card are also accepted. The certificate is valid for three years.Not stated.Liseberg personal attendant page (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
Gröna Lund (Sweden)One or two free companions, as the certificate states. They must be at least 16 and carry ID. Extra companions pay the ordinary price.A signed certificate shown at the Ticket Center or Guest Services. The page says international certificates such as the EU Disability Card also count, and that Liseberg’s certificate is accepted. A wheelchair user needs no certificate for the alternative queue, but does need one to bring a free companion.No. The page says you pay the ordinary price.Gröna Lund certificate page (Swedish) (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
Kolmården (Sweden)One or two free companions, as the certificate states. They must be at least 16 and carry ID. Extra companions pay the ordinary price.A signed certificate. The page says international certificates such as the EU Disability Card also count. A wheelchair user needs no certificate for the accessibility band, but does need one to bring a free companion.No. The page says you pay the ordinary price.Kolmården companion page (Swedish) (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
Tusenfryd (Norway)Under the Vis Hensyn scheme the guest buys a discounted ticket and the number of companions listed on the companion certificate enter free with no ticket. Companions must be at least 16 and able to meet each ride’s safety rules.A publicly issued companion certificate (ledsagerbevis). The page also lists wheelchair users and a valid medical statement while a certificate is pending as entitled to the Vis Hensyn band.Yes. The page says the guest buys a discounted ticket.Tusenfryd special needs page (Norwegian) (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
Dyreparken (Norway)A free ticket for the companion or companions. It only applies when a paying ticket is bought for the certificate holder, and two certificate holders cannot be each other’s companions. Free tickets are collected at the ticket booth on the day. For a child under 3, who does not pay, a free companion ticket is not triggered.A companion certificate (ledsagerbevis) issued by the home municipality. The page says a holder of an HC card can buy in the disabled category but gets no companion ticket without a certificate. It does not say whether a foreign certificate counts.Yes. The page says the discounted ticket costs the same as a child ticket, and can be bought in advance.Dyreparken companion scheme (Norwegian), page dated 23 September 2026 (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
Djurs Sommerland (Denmark)One companion aged 18 or over enters free. The page says to contact Ticket Information on arrival.A Danish or foreign, officially issued companion card. The page says cards marked with an asterisk must not be expired.No. The page says disabled guests pay admission on equal terms with other guests.Djurs Sommerland disability policy (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
Tivoli Gardens (Denmark)A companion may be given free admission and/or a ride pass at the entrances. Special rules apply to Fredagsrock on Friday evenings.A Companion Card of the Danish disability organisations. The page says a tourist without one must bring medical documentation that clearly verifies the disability.No. The page says guests with a disability pay on an equal basis.Tivoli guests with special needs page (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.

Germany, France and Poland

Companion ticket rules at German, French and Polish parks, pages opened 3 October 2026
ParkCarer or companion ticketEvidence the park namesIs the disabled visitor’s own ticket reduced?Official source
Europa-Park (Germany)A reduced, not free, ticket for the accompanying person. Companion tickets must be bought in advance, and the reduced rate applies only if the disability ID says an accompanying person is required.A valid disability ID showing the companion note. The page does not say what a visitor with a non-German card needs.Yes. Reduced rates for disabled guests are granted on presentation of a valid disability ID. Free admission is listed for wheelchair users who are tetraplegic.Europa-Park disability page (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
Hansa-Park (Germany)A companion ticket at €43 for guests whose card carries the mark B or H. The companion must be at least 18 and able to give the help needed, and two disabled guests cannot count as each other’s companions. It is sold only at the park, together with a disabled-guest ticket.A German severe-disability card (Schwerbehindertenausweis) with mark B or H, shown on the day. The information sheet does not say whether a companion pays a reduced price for other marks.Yes, for most marks. The sheet lists €43 for most marks, €29 for mark H, and free entry for marks aG and Bl.Hansa-Park guests with a handicap page and information sheet (German, sheet undated) (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
LEGOLAND Deutschland (Germany)One adult companion (18 or over) enters free. The page’s opening summary says “reduced tickets for companions” while the detail says free entry, so ask which applies.A German severe-disability card with mark B or H, shown at the main entrance with an online ticket. The page does not say what a visitor with a non-German card needs.Yes, if bought at the ticket window: €4 off the on-site day ticket with a disability card. Not stated for online tickets.LEGOLAND Deutschland accessibility page (German) (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
Disneyland Paris (France)A reduced-price entrance ticket for the guest and one companion.An official document certifying a permanent disability. The guide says to check on the website that your document is valid, and we did not re-check that list.Yes. The guide says the reduced ticket is for the guest and one companion.Disneyland Paris accessibility guide, March 2026 (PDF) (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.
Energylandia (Poland)No carer discount on individual visits. The FAQ says a carer discount applies only to group visits of more than 15 people. It does not say whether a carer needs a full ticket to enter.Not applicable to carers. For the disabled visitor’s own discounted ticket the page names a valid disability card (or duplicate) or the original medical assessment.Yes, on a valid disability card or original medical assessment.Energylandia FAQ and discounted tickets page (opens a new tab) Opened 3 October 2026.

What proof parks ask for

Our guides on using UK documents abroad and which access scheme fits your needs cover the wider question of whether a UK or EU document is accepted by a park.

What parks do not publish

Where parks say nothing, that is not a refusal. It means the answer was not on the pages we read, so it is worth asking.

How to plan

  1. Read the park’s own page first. Use the source link in the table, check its date and see whether it describes a carer ticket, a discount or nothing.
  2. Match your documents to the list. If a park names an Access Card with a symbol, apply early. Paultons says processing can take up to 5 days at busy times, and Blackpool says it contacts you with booking instructions once you share your card or ID number.
  3. Check when and where the carer ticket is collected. Chessington says carer tickets cannot be pre-booked and are collected in person. LEGOLAND Windsor says its carer ticket can be reserved online. Dyreparken’s free tickets are collected at the booth on the day, while Europa-Park’s companion tickets must be bought in advance.
  4. Check who counts as the companion. Hansa-Park and LEGOLAND Deutschland set a minimum age of 18, Chessington says over 14, and the Swedish and Norwegian parks say 16. Dyreparken and Hansa-Park say two disabled guests cannot be each other’s companions.
  5. Keep the evidence to hand. Bring the original or a clear digital copy, and photo ID where the park asks for it.
  6. Allow for the park’s decision on the day. A park can change its rules, and staff decide on arrival.

Questions to ask

Our Ask the park tool turns each park’s open questions into a message you can send. Please leave personal and health details out of it.

Related pages

See also the Merlin Ride Access Pass guide, which access scheme fits your needs and using UK documents abroad. Park profiles with the most detail: Chessington, Thorpe Park, LEGOLAND Windsor, Liseberg, Dyreparken and Europa-Park.

Park policies and website pages can change. Where a park gives conflicting information, ask it to confirm which applies to your visit. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.