PLAN BY NEED

Blind and low vision: planning a theme park day

Desk research on a thin evidence base, RNIB guidance, and what parks publish. Sources read on 3 October 2026.

This page is for blind and partially sighted people, their families, friends and carers, and anyone planning a theme park day where sight loss shapes the plan. You do not need a diagnosis, a certificate or a particular amount of sight to use it. We use the words RNIB prefers, “sight loss” and “blind and partially sighted people”. RNIB notes that some people use “visually impaired” about themselves, and people choose their own words. We use that phrase only when quoting a park or a study. The page is short on promises because the research is thin. We would rather say so than pad it.

In short

What can make theme parks hard, and what helps

There is little research on theme parks themselves, and none on audio description at attractions, dark rides for people with low vision, or planning a park visit with a screen reader. Studies in related settings suggest the points below. Most are small, and several describe an association, not a cause. The numbers in square brackets match the Research list under Sources.

What the research suggests, and how strong each finding is
FindingSource and strength
Little evidence supports occupational therapy interventions for leisure and social participation by older adults with low vision.[1] A systematic review that found only 3 studies and rated the evidence low, with high risk of bias. Older adults. We cannot say any approach “works”.
Children’s and teenagers’ quality of life, functioning and participation are reported as reduced, and this depends on factors such as severity and age.[4] A scoping review of 69 studies. It describes findings and does not grade quality. It says nothing about parks. We found no study of family outings with a blind or partially sighted child.
Barriers in the environment are linked with lower physical activity among people with sight loss. That points to planning the surroundings, not blaming the person.[3] A systematic review of 29 articles, mostly observational, so it shows an association only. About physical activity, not parks.
Hearing is the most important sense for orientation for many people. Crowds, weather and how well you know the place change how people get around.[5] Interviews with 11 Dutch adults. Small, a single study. It suggests crowded, unfamiliar places make orientation harder.
Learning a route depends on concentration, energy, anxiety and age as well as sight, and sensory ability can fluctuate.[6] Interviews with 10 orientation and mobility instructors. Small, a single study. Do not apply it to every person.
For adults with both sight and hearing loss, conversation in crowded settings was very difficult. In unfamiliar places they needed help from others or a navigation app.[11] Interviews with 20 adults. Small. A single study, relevant to guests with sight and hearing loss.
Tactile maps can help some people build a mental map. In a maze study, 3D maps helped early blind participants, and late blind participants did equally well with 2D and 3D. People can build a mental overview with enough spatial information or training.[7] [8] A small laboratory study with mazes and a narrative review. Not real parks. It supports asking for a tactile map and time to learn the layout. It does not promise independent navigation.
Lower indoor light did not change how accurately people with low vision spotted steps and ramps, but did change their confidence.[9] One small laboratory study in a windowless room at three light levels. It is not about dark rides or night, and we do not extend it to them.

Practical guidance from RNIB

The most useful guidance we found is from RNIB, not from research. It is written for people guiding someone, and it says there are “no hard and fast rules” on how to assist people with sight loss.

What parks offer for this

Parks do not usually run a scheme for sight loss. Some queue schemes name blind guests, many do not, and a queue scheme does not change the ride itself. Our which access scheme guide explains the types, and Ask the park is the place to check a specific point. Everything below is from our park profiles, each of which links the park’s own pages. “Not found” means we did not find it, not that the park has none.

Tactile maps, Braille, large print and audio description

What parks publish for blind and partially sighted guests, most concrete first
ParkWhat the park publishesOfficial source and date checked
Disneyland Resort (California)A Disney handheld device with assistive listening, captioning and audio description, from Accessibility Services ($25 refundable deposit, returned the same day). Braille guidebooks and portable tactile maps can be borrowed from the Accessibility Services Kiosk.Accessibility Services Kiosk (opens a new tab) , checked 2 October 2026
Walt Disney WorldAudio description on the Disney handheld device ($25 refundable deposit, returned the same day).Guests with disabilities (opens a new tab) , checked 2 October 2026
Disneyland ParisAudio description through the free AudioSpot app, covering restaurants, some attractions, some shows and the hotels. Tactile and audio maps at City Hall and Studio Services; bring your own earphones.Accessibility guide, March 2026 (PDF) (opens a new tab) , checked 2 October 2026
Hong Kong DisneylandTactile maps with Braille (English and Traditional Chinese) by Guest Relations and in the Plaza, and at the Public Transport Interchange and resort station. Braille guidebooks and audio guides (English, Cantonese, Putonghua) from Guest Relations against a refundable deposit, returned the same day. Our profile did not confirm the amount.Guide Book for Guests with Disabilities, 2023 (PDF) (opens a new tab) , checked 2 October 2026
Universal Orlando ResortRider guides and show scripts to borrow in large print and Braille from Guest Services. White canes are stored in the vehicle or held by attendants on listed rides, so confirm for your ride.Accessibility information (opens a new tab) , checked 1 October 2026
Cedar Point, Carowinds, Kings Island, Knott’s Berry Farm, Magic Mountain, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Great America, Over TexasBraille and large-print copies of the guest accessibility guide at Guest Services, in limited numbers, first come first served. White canes can be used on many attractions but may need to be collapsed and stored or left with a non-rider. The Cedar Point and Kings Island profiles say no captioning or audio description was found.Cedar Point accessibility page (opens a new tab) as an example. Each profile links its own park page. Checked 1 or 2 October 2026.
Canada’s WonderlandBraille and large-print guides at Guest Services in limited numbers. Large-print scripts for live shows may be available. White canes may need to be collapsed and stored on some rides.Accessibility page (opens a new tab) , checked 2 October 2026
Europa-ParkIts visual-impairment page says the park guide is also available in Braille on site.Guests with visual impairments (opens a new tab) , re-checked 2 October 2026
FuturoscopeLes Yeux Grands Fermés, a journey in total darkness with a blind guide (age 6 and over, donation payable). Station Cosmos, Ecolodgee and Hôtel du Futuroscope hold the Tourisme & Handicap label for visual impairments, according to the same page.Accessibility information (opens a new tab) , checked 2 October 2026

Other profiles say less. Universal Studios Hollywood lends its guide in large print and Braille. Ocean Park Hong Kong offers a Braille guide on request at Guest Relations. Shanghai Disney Resort has tactile maps with Braille and says some rides do not permit guide dogs. Universal Studios Singapore’s profile says its guide covers sight only through service animals. Beyond these, the profiles for Gröna Lund, Kolmården, Mirabilandia, Hersheypark, Isla Mágica, Parc Astérix, Wb World, Yas Island, Toverland, Hansa and Heide record that captions or audio description were not found or are not mentioned. Puy du Fou’s profile says no current public page we opened confirms audio description this season. That leaves most of the 87 parks on this site with nothing for blind guests that we found, so ask. For darkness and strobe, the park-published ratings we know of are Disneyland Paris’s 1 to 4 sensory ratings (aimed at cognitive disability, not blind guests) and the 1 to 10 sight scores in the LEGOLAND California and Malaysia sensory guides. See our sensory and quieter days guide.

Ride rules for blind guests: what each park says, side by side

Parks publish very different rules for blind guests, and some contradict themselves between pages. We report each in the park’s words as our profile records them, and we do not choose between them or say whether any ride suits any person. Where two sources differ, the right-hand column says so. Ask the park to confirm the rule that applies to you, in writing.

Ride rules for blind and partially sighted guests, as parks publish them
ParkWhat the park’s pages sayWhere sources differ or are unclearOfficial source and date checked
Heide ParkThe park says almost all rides are possible for blind guests with a companion aged 16 or over. Blind guests cannot ride Mountain Rafting in normal operation. The Bobbahn is decided case by case.Our profile notes the web page and flyer differ for deaf guests, and found no conflict for blind guests. The flyer lists Indy-Blitz twice, so ask which applies.Guests with limitations (German) (opens a new tab) and 2026 flyer (German PDF) (opens a new tab) , 1 October 2026
Holiday ParkNo doctor’s note is needed for the wristband. The companion must be 15 or over. The park also says some rides cannot be used by blind guests for safety reasons.Our profile says the German and English pages differ on documents, and does not say they differ on blind guests’ rules. Ask which applies.Guests with disabilities (German) (opens a new tab) , 1 or 2 October 2026
Rainbow MagicLandRed bracelet category: “blindness or deafness. These guests can use all rides but must always be with an adult, or a minor at least 120 cm tall.”The ride table says an adult aged 18 or over. The accessibility page also allows a minor at least 120 cm tall.Accessibility page (Italian) (opens a new tab) and 2026 limits table (Italian PDF) (opens a new tab) , 2 October 2026
LeolandiaThe AccessibiliPass is for wheelchair users, autistic guests and blind guests. Guide dogs for blind people are the one allowed animal type.The regulation annex says adults (18 and over) who use a wheelchair or are blind. The web pages differ. Ask about children.Accessibility page (opens a new tab) , 2 October 2026
Djurs Sommerland“Blind or severely visually impaired guests need a companion over 18 on every ride and in the water park.” A Danish Association of the Blind card counts for a free companion.Whether a card from another country is accepted is not stated.Disability policy (opens a new tab) , 2 October 2026
Tripsdrill“For guests with a visual impairment a companion is required on rides.” Blind guests with the Bl marker enter free on showing the card.Proof for visitors from other countries is not stated.Menschen mit Behinderung (German) (opens a new tab) , 2 October 2026
Hansa-ParkFor guests with a visual impairment who cannot prepare for a ride’s course, the park lists named big coasters and water rides as not cleared and three as partly suitable. Guests with sight or hearing loss are asked to speak to staff at Arena del Mar about a special seat.Our profile does not say how the park defines “cannot prepare for the course”. Ask.Guests with a handicap (German) (opens a new tab) , 1 October 2026
Walibi BelgiumThe guide says visually impaired guests may not use Radja River, Flash-Back, Tiki-Trail and Tree House, and calls this “strictly enforced”.The guide’s sight icons were not readable by us beyond that.People with special needs (opens a new tab) , 2 October 2026
Energylandia“Visually impaired guests can use roller coasters.” Staff may refuse a person who cannot fully use a ride on their own.It does not say whether a companion is needed. The English page says visually impaired. The Polish says blind (“niewidome”).Discounted tickets and special needs guests (opens a new tab) , 1 October 2026
LEGOLAND DeutschlandThe park says a blind guest with an adult companion can use all rides.The ride guide is marked 03/2022. Treat it as a starting point.Barrierefreiheit (German) (opens a new tab) , 1 October 2026
BellewaerdeThe ride guide has a colour-coded matrix with a “blind or partially sighted” column: green accessible, red not.Colour is the main cue, which is itself a barrier for some readers. Guide dogs are named but not allowed on rides.ACCESS’PASS guide (French PDF) (opens a new tab) , 2 October 2026

Companion age rules in this table run from 15 to 18, or 120 cm for a minor at one park. Gardaland’s ride guidance (18 September 2026) also asks for an adult companion for visitors with a visual impairment, and its guide-dog policy does not permit dogs on every attraction. “Free for blind visitors” is not a general rule: Hansa-Park, Tripsdrill and Ravensburger Spieleland offer free entry with a national blind card, and whether a card from the UK or another country counts is mostly not stated. Companion and ticket detail is in each profile.

Before you go

Weeks ahead

Days ahead

The night before

On the day

Afterwards

Questions to ask the park

Use Ask the park to send a question. These are worth asking.

Other guides that may apply: which access scheme, getting to theme parks with assistance and UK documents abroad.

Sources

Research

Abstracts opened through PubMed on 3 October 2026. Nothing here is about theme parks.

  1. Nastasi et al. 2020, American Journal of Occupational Therapy. Systematic review, leisure and social participation for older adults with low vision, 3 studies. PubMed 32078507 (opens a new tab) · DOI 10.5014/ajot.2020.038521 (opens a new tab)
  2. Lindsay, Di Gennaro and Allen 2021, International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health. Systematic review, 29 articles, physical activity in adults with sight loss. PubMed 34831518 (opens a new tab) · DOI 10.3390/ijerph182211763 (opens a new tab)
  3. Lanza, Incagli and Ceccato 2024, Research in Developmental Disabilities. Scoping review, 69 studies, children and adolescents. PubMed 38870675 (opens a new tab) · DOI 10.1016/j.ridd.2024.104772 (opens a new tab)
  4. Blokland et al. 2025, Brain Sciences (Part I). Interviews with 11 Dutch adults. PubMed 41594734 (opens a new tab) · DOI 10.3390/brainsci16010013 (opens a new tab)
  5. Blokland et al. 2025, Brain Sciences (Part II). Interviews with 10 orientation and mobility instructors. PubMed 41594728 (opens a new tab) · DOI 10.3390/brainsci16010006 (opens a new tab)
  6. Bleau et al. 2023, Scientific Reports. Maze experiment with 13 early blind, 12 late blind and 14 sighted adults. PubMed 37322150 (opens a new tab) · DOI 10.1038/s41598-023-36578-3 (opens a new tab)
  7. Ottink et al. 2022, Neuroscience and Biobehavioral Reviews. Narrative review, people with blindness. PubMed 35902045 (opens a new tab) · DOI 10.1016/j.neubiorev.2022.104797 (opens a new tab)
  8. Lei, Gage, Kersten et al. 2024, Optometry and Vision Science. Laboratory study of steps and ramps at three light levels. PubMed 38990238 (opens a new tab) · DOI 10.1097/OPX.0000000000002146 (opens a new tab)
  9. Veenman et al. 2023, PLoS One. Interviews with 20 adults with sight and hearing loss. PubMed 37682938 (opens a new tab) · DOI 10.1371/journal.pone.0272890 (opens a new tab)

Health bodies and charities

All opened on 3 October 2026.

Park sources

Every park fact above comes from the park profile linked in its row, which names the park’s own page and the date we checked it. Official pages are linked in the tables. For guide dogs, see our assistance dogs guide, official pages opened 2 October 2026.

A note on this page

This page is desk research, not medical advice. It does not say whether any ride is suitable for any person. The park decides on the day, and a clinician can advise about an individual’s situation. Park rules change and can be out of date, so confirm with the park before you travel. This page is due for a re-check by 3 November 2026. If you spot something wrong, tell us.